A first-time DUI in Florida is no joke. It must be taken seriously. A person faces up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, the loss of his or her driver’s license for between six months and a year, successful completion of a DUI program, installation of an ignition interlock device for at least six months and public service hours. Nobody in the court system is going to respect a defendant who appears in proceedings without an attorney. He or she can expect to be treated with utter disdain by a prosecuting attorney and the presiding judge.
There are ways of working through a DUI case. With the effective assistance of a knowledgeable and experienced DUI attorney Ponte Vedra, the charges against a defendant might get reduced or even dismissed.
A DUI arrest in Florida operates to have two separate cases brought against you. The first case is the actual criminal DUI case, and the second case is the administrative hearing on your driver’s license with the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The State of Florida only allows you 10 days to seek a hearing on your driver’s license, so it’s of critical importance that you speak with a qualified DUI attorney Ponte Vedra right away after your arrest.
A DUI conviction can result in collateral consequences that can directly affect job, housing and educational opportunities. You can also expect your insurance premiums to increase drastically for several years. If you’re arrested for DUI, remember that Florida law doesn’t require you to submit to either field sobriety tests or any type of breath testing. If a search warrant is issued, you must submit to blood testing though. Remember that you only have 10 days to seek a hearing on your driver’s license suspension. Contact a DUI attorney Ponte Vedra at Canan Law right away after being released from jail on a DUI arrest. You can call us at 904-824-9402, or use our easy contact form at https://www.cananlaw.com.